top of page
  • Writer's pictureJefferson County Go Texan

Jefferson County Go Texan Committee Announces 2021 Scholarship Recipients

Updated: Sep 5, 2021

August 19, 2021


BEAUMONT, TX - The Jefferson County Go Texan Committee, a subcommittee of the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo, announced its annual scholarship recipients Wednesday morning. This year’s 11 recipients represented an array of schools across Jefferson County and surrounding areas.

“This is a special year,” said Clint Burges, Jefferson County Go Texan Ambassador. “We have not only a special group of students but a special group of volunteers who made some amazing arrangements to raise money for these kids at the last minute.”

In a first for Jefferson County Go Texan, one student will receive additional funding by way of the inaugural Dalton W. Horn Memorial Scholarship. Dalton Horn, of Nome, Texas, a graduate of Hardin-Jefferson High School and Texas A&M University, was en route to the newly created Texas Tech School of Veterinary Medicine when his life was cut short in a car accident. As part of Jefferson County Go Texan’s fundraising efforts, this year’s recipient, Carli Taylor, will receive additional scholarship assistance to help with their educational endeavors.

And, for the first time in committee history, Jefferson County Go Texan has received enough money from the Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo to award three $20,000 scholarships. Yamelly Martinez and Abby Hoffpauir, of Nederland High School, and Carli Taylor, of Hamshire-Fannett High School, will receive scholarships. Each of the 68 participating area Go Texan counties awards a scholarship to one of its respective graduating high school seniors. An additional 10 awards are given at large to eligible students within these counties, of which Jefferson County was one.

From the 1970s, Jefferson County Go Texan has distributed more than $779,000 in committed scholarships and assisted more than 250 students,” Burges said. “This year the committee will be dispersing more than $71,200 to local youth of Jefferson County. “This year proves what Jefferson County Go Texan’s mission is all about -- Supporting Youth Through Education.”

2021 Recipients

(In no particular order or affiliation)

Pomirko, Collin James | Hardin - Jefferson

Braneff, Blayne Elise | Monsignor Kelly

Luo, Langning | Nederland

Parker, Dylan Ray | Hardin - Jefferson

Richard, Grace Elisabeth | Port - Neches Groves

Samoff, Makenzie Hart | Hardin - Jefferson

Taylor, Carli Jo | Hamshire - Fannett

Loiacano, Brooke A | Hamshire - Fannett

Hoffpauir, Abby G | Nederland

Hoffpauir, Brian A | Nederland

Martinez, Yammelly | Nederland

112 views0 comments


bottom of page